What kind of car can i get?

Hey everybody. I am a total newbie in the bmw world. I have only recently begun to really appreciate the beauty and power of these machines and I have decided i need to buy one. However as a poor college student I was wondering what I could expect to get on my tight budget. What kind of bmw could I get with 10 grand? I don't even have that money, but would be willing to work my ass off to get it. My ideal car would be a E36 323i or 325i. Is it possible to find one so cheap??? And if it is, what kind of mileage/condition would it be? I know the price varies from situation to situation but in general what do you think? Thanks for the help. Oh by the way i live in California, if that helps with pricing.

injinuiti

First of all, hello and welcome to the forums [wave]

I notice that you live in the bay area... me too! Don't you get jealous of all these people up here who drive BMWs?!?!? You are basically in the exact same situation I am in. Low cash, college student, want a BMW. Though my budget is a bit higher than yours, I have seen a few great deals that I passed on.

Basically the best deal I have found so far (too bad it was sold) was a 96 328is 5spd with 120k mi for $10k and it was a leased vehicle.

Some older 325i/is should be withing your range but its gonna be a higher mileage car. Where do you go to school?? I go to school in the LA area so my car needs have a lower mileage.

Some helpful places I've been looking at for bay area cars: cars.com (this site is specifically for bay area), autotrader.com, sfgate.com (go to classifieds theres around 1400 used bmws for sale), and autobytel.com (haven't found a good use for it since most listed ones are new)

Hope this helps and good luck... you'll need it

epj3