breaking in new bmw

Hey guys, i'm brand new to the bimmer world and have a 2004 325ci on order. I've heard people mention taking it easy for the first 1200 miles or so. Could someone else elaborate on this and anything else i should be aware of to break in my new car ? Thanks !

Welcome and Congratulations! You are now experiencing the agony of waiting for a new BMW!!!

Break-in information is mentioned in the owner's manual. The 2 things I know of:
1. Engine speed at or below 3000 RPM. This presumably is to minimize pressures in the engine until the piston rings seat.

2. Constantly vary the engine speed. What that really means is don't lock in the cruise control at a fixed speed and stay there. I was also told this when I bought my GMC Suburban. The dealer said that it was to prevent a condition that might occur called "Set". Supposedly the constant vibration frequency at a fixed RPM when the engine is new can cause bolts to vibrate loose. I dunno, I guess it's possible....

One other tip -
Since the car's new, you probably want to keep it looking that way. Go to the Detailing Discussion area and read Vlad's *EXCELLENT* Detailing document. My 330cic is just 4 months old and I am following his guidelines to keep it looking great for a long time!

Last edited:

wacko3

I believe it does give break-in instructions in the manual. Anyways, what you're doing with the break-in is to do the final polishing on the cylinders. Did I get that right? Mike! Where are you?

Here's a link to take a look at. Personally, I would not do what the guy is suggesting, except maybe to my lawnmower. However, the guy does explain what happens in a break-in process.

http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

[welcome]